Just To Be Where You Are


Recorded Live at the Tic Toc Loft in 2006.


Just To Be Where You Are

Words and Music by Monica Dennington
Copyright 2005

{verse 1}
There’s always been a voice deep down inside of me
telling me I was destined to be a child of the light, but,

I don’t know, I guess all the muddiness and confusion,
in the world and my soul, have caused me to lose sight,

and so…

Fear comes in try to steal my trust,
and so I fight, fight,
To never let it go-

I’m not clever but I know this
That when you find love,
boy, you never let it go

And I don’t know everything that’s
going on,
All I know is I really want
to see Your face,

To feel the warmth
of Your embrace-

Just to be where You are…

And I don’t know what this world is
gonna do,
All I know is I really need
to feel Your touch,

-I know, but I need to feel
how much
You love me…

Please-
Don’t go away

Please-
show me Your face,

Please-
don’t go away

{chorus}
I just want to be
Where You are
I just feel so far away-
And I need You to hold me

Please-
What can I say?-
You know I’m dying for You, and
my desire for You
Is simply more than my heart can take

Jesus, please-
Won’t You come take me away…

{verse2}
I know there are those days when the glory falls down,
and all of creation seems to be singing Your song-

When all the bills are paid and the battles are won,
and it seems like nothing in the world could go wrong…

But I’m not gonna lie – today is not one of those days-
there isn’t a fiber in my being that feels strong

And everything in my world, and everything in my family-
Everything, everything
Seems to be wrong,
and so

Fear comes in to try to steal my trust,
And so I fight, fight,
to never let You go-

I’m not clever but I know this
That now I’ve found Love,
and I’ll never let you go…

And I don’t know everything that’s
going on,
All I know is I really want
to see Your face,

To feel the warmth
of Your embrace-

Just to be where You are…

And I don’t know what this world is
gonna do,
All I know is I really need
to feel Your touch,

-I know, but I need to feel
how much
You love me…

Please-
Don’t go away

Please-
show me Your face,

Please-
don’t go away

{chorus]
I just want to be
Where You are
I just feel so far away-
And I need You to hold me

Please-
What can I say?-
You know I’m dying for you, and
my desire for You
Is simply more than my heart can take

Jesus, please-
Won’t You come take me away…

Won’t You come and take, take, take me away

Won’t You come and take, take, take me away (4x)

{chorus}
I just want to be
Where You are
I just feel so far away-
And I need You to hold me

Please-
What can I say?-
You know I’m dying for You, and
my desire for You
Is simply more than my heart can take

Jesus, please-
Won’t You come take me away…

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

