Do You Love God?: Test Your Heart


Monday Morning Heart-Check!

.

Do You Love God?: Test Your Heart

(Transcript)

“Hearing that Jesus had silenced the Sadducees, the Pharisees
got together. One of them, an expert in the law, tested
Him with this question: ‘Teacher, which is the greatest
commandment in the Law?’ Jesus replied: ‘Love the Lord
your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all
your mind. This is the first and greatest commandment. And the
second is like it: Love your neighbor as yourself ’. All the Law
and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.’ ”

Matthew 22:34-40 (NIV)

As we approach the return of Jesus Christ, it is now time for us as the Church to get honest with ourselves about our motivations, about our heart, and about our devotion to God. Jesus made our lives very simple by summing up the Law and the Prophets in two simple commands: love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength; and love your neighbor as yourself.

It’s easy to give lip-service to Jesus and say, “Oh God, I love you with all of my heart.” But the Bible says that we’re supposed to test ourselves in everything — that we’re supposed to judge ourselves so that we won’t be judged by God.

So if you’re a person that gets up in the morning and says, “Oh, God, I love you with all of my heart,” test yourself by applying Jesus’ words when He said,

“If you love me, you will obey my commands.”

John 14:15 (NIV)

Replace the word “love” with the word “obey” in the greatest commandment. If you can honestly say, “God, I am obeying you with all my heart, with all my strength, with all my soul, and with all my mind,” then you have a sincere devotion to Christ.

But if you are lacking in your obedience, now is the time to get right with God — to repent of your sins, to wake up in the morning asking, “God, what can I do for you? What do you want me to do for your kingdom? How can I love my neighbor today? How can I obey you with all of my heart — not only in my emotions, not only with my words, but with my actions?”

When you are able to obey God with the same zeal and fervor that you say that you love Him, God will be able to move beyond pouring His love into you: He will be able to show His love through you, as you     march forward in obedience to His heart and His will.

Brothers and sisters, read your Bible… and do what it says.

.

________________________________________

 

“As long as it is day, we must do the works of him who sent me. Night is coming, when no one can work.”

John 9:4

________________________________________

.

Thanks for your financial support of this ministry!

paypal-donate-226x83

________________________________________

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

