The Eye of God


Hello,

I have listened to some of your teachings…I have a very serious question for you, and maybe I’ll sound very silly, b/c…I could be looking at this all wrong, but the picture that came with the sermon shows two flaming circles, with an eye in the middle.

This is very concerning to me, as that is a very demonic meaning in the esoteric. The all seeing eye, in a vesica piscis? Before I’d even watch this, I’d like to know if you understand that, or why you’re using it? I know I’ve enjoyed watching you in the past on YouTube, but I’d really appreciate a response to this before I’d continue to watch or listen to any of your content please. Thank you, and I hope to hear from you soon. May you be led into all Truth, and lead others there as well.

In Jesus Alone,
Shelly Welden

Declaring the Glory

“The heavens declare the glory of God; the sky displays his handiwork.” Psalm 19:1

Shelley, what a good question. Thanks so much for writing.

I actually get questions like this a lot. Not just concerning this particular image, but more generally about all kinds of objects and images associated with pagan religions or Satanic cults.

Christians often make the mistake of giving credit to pagan religions for God’s creation. But in our world— the Christian world— God gets the glory.

In this case, he created the eye, as well as the picture in question.

The image you refer to, which I used for my series, “Blind Faith: The Evidence We Need”, is from NASA. It was taken from the Hubble telescope. It’s not a pagan representation of what God created: it’s a picture of the creation itself. Check it out.

This is an image of a young planetary nebula located about 8,000 light-years away. This Hubble image reveals an hourglass with an intricate pattern of ‘etchings’ in its walls. In previous ground-based images, MyCn18 appears to be a pair of large outer rings with a smaller central one, but the fine details cannot be seen.

The Bible specifically says that God will show portents, or signs, in the heavens (Luke 21:11, Joel 2:3.) So when we see a picture in the heavens, clearly painted by God, we should not call it evil just because the world imitates it, explains it, or claims it as their own.

We should remember that a sign, by definition, is meant to be looked at.

How much more when it’s a sign from God?

So I encourage you, just look at this amazing portrait intricately etched into the sky by your heavenly Father and ask, “What is God saying? What can I see about God in this slice of creation?”

This link explains why there are rings around this dying star— how stellar winds act as a paintbrush, pushing the pigments of nitrogen, oxygen, and hydrogen to the star’s outer layers, creating the image you see.

What it can’t explain, however, is how a perfect representation of a human eye could be painted in the heavens by mere chance…without an artist.

It’s a sign.

That the One who created the vastness of the universe also created the human eye.

That the God of the heavens has his hands on the people of earth.

It’s a graphic call to our hearts to remember, as Rich Mullins sang, “You who live in radiance hear the prayers of those of us who live in skin.”

 

Why I Picked This Image

I discovered this picture browsing similar images of the Helix Nebula, aka the “Eye of God”. (If you don’t think the Hourglass Nebula is enough of a sign, check out this story: “The Famous “Eye of God” Nebula May Actually Be Weeping Tears Of Water.“)

See Explanation. Clicking on the picture will download the highest resolution version available.

 

I found these awesome images to be a fitting reminder that “Blind Faith” isn’t really blind. It’s a decision to place our trust in the sight of an all-seeing God instead of our own limited understanding.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding;
  in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.” Proverbs 3:5 (NIV)

I hope this answers your question, Shelley, and I hope you will watch the series. I’m confident that if you do, hearing these Scriptures will build you up in faith and encourage your heart in the Lord.

May the blessings of Christ continue to flow in you!

In Christ,

 

 

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.